HindustanTimes Mon,22 Dec 2014

Sweden passed Eurovision crown to Denmark

AFP  Malmo, May 20, 2013
First Published: 01:31 IST(20/5/2013) | Last Updated: 01:33 IST(20/5/2013)

Denmark won this year's Eurovision Song Contest in the Swedish city of Malmoe early Sunday with the song "Only Teardrops" by Emmelie de Forest.


Denmark, widely tipped to win the annual music competition, garnered 281 points at a glittering ceremony watched by millions of viewers, beating runner ups Azerbaijan (234 points) and Ukraine (214 points.)

The Scandinavian country last won the contest in 2000 with "Fly on the wings of love" by Olsen Brothers, also in Sweden.

Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved