HindustanTimes Mon,31 Aug 2015

High PL : News

Gilchrist knew Deccan would win by 6 wickets before semis

Much before hitting his 'best ever Twenty20 knock' to power Deccan Chargers into the IPL finals, Adam Gilchrist knew his side would win by six wickets and had written this prediction on a piece of paper on the morning of the semifinals. "I had a feeling in the morning that we would win by six wickets. I always back my instincts so I just took out a paper and wrote this. I am quite amazed that it came true," Gilchrist said.

Modi rules out more than four foreign players

The growing clamour for more than four foreign cricketers in the playing XI notwithstanding, Indian Premier League Chairman and Commissioner Lalit Modi has ruled out any such possibility for the time being.

T20 at par with Test cricket: Gilchrist

The unforgiving nature of Twenty20 which does not give teams a chance to resurrect after committing a mistake puts it at par with Test cricket in terms of pressure, feels Deccan Chargers skipper Adam Gilchrist.

We didn't miss McGrath: Sehwag

A legend he might be but Glenn McGrath was not missed by Delhi Daredevils as the Australian pace great was not in form, insists skipper Virender Sehwag.

Rohit Sharma named best under-23 player of IPL

Deccan Chargers' batsman Rohit Sharma has been named as the best Under-23 player of the second Indian Premier League which concludes in Johannesburg on Sunday.

Modi mulling two IPLs in a year

After the success of Indian Premier League on foreign soil, chairman and commissioner Lalit Modi is now planning to host two Twenty20 leagues in a year.

Pandey steers Royal Challengers to IPL final

On a roll after his unbeaten century against Deccan Chargers, youngster Manish Pandey played another scintilating knock  as Bangalore Royal Challengers stormed into the finals of the Indian Premier League, pipping last year's runners-up Chennai Super Kings by six wickets on Saturday, reports Atreyo Mukhopadhyay. Listen to podcast audio 

McGrath denies remarks on IPL return

Glenn McGrath, who is disappointed at not getting to play a single IPL match for Delhi Daredevils, has denied having said he would not come back for next year's edition of the tournament.

Frenetic mega serial reaches climax

It’s time to say goodbye to IPL-II with a final fling. This is a strange tournament in the sense that one finalist will come to know who the other one is less than 24 hours before the match, reports Atreyo Mukhopadhyay.

Making IPL final, Deccan Chargers, Bangalore turn jeers to cheers

After 36 days of scintillating action and 58 dazzling encounters, the penultimate stage of IPL could not have been more exciting as the two bottom-placed teams of the inaugural edition - Deccan Chargers and Bangalore Royal Challengers - made it to Sunday's title clash. Listen to podcast audio | Full Coverage

Red hot gilly

In his distinctive and destructive way, the ageless aggressor extraordinaire has inspired a story which looks unbelievable in comparison to what happened last year. From the bottom of the heap, his team leapfrogged to the final this year with the most significant contribution coming from the skipper, reports Atreyo Mukhopadhyay.

Bangalore, Delhi and Deccan Chargers to represent India in CL T20

Bangalore Royal Challengers, Deccan Chargers and Delhi Daredevils will represent hosts India in the inaugural Champions League Twenty20 cricket tournament to be held from October 8-23.

Deccan Chargers beat Bangalore by six runs to lift IPL crown

Deccan Chargers completed an extraordinary journey from being at the bottom of the table last year to win the second edition of the Indian Premier League, defeating Bangalore Royal Challengers by six runs in a pulsating final to walk away with the $2 million (about Rs. 9.4 crore) prize money, reports Atreyo Mukhopadhyay. Final frames | Listen to podcast audio | Part 2 audio| See Pics

IPl will be 10-team league in 2011

Buoyed by the success of the second edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL), its chairman and commissioner Lalit Modi said the eight-team tournament will be expanded to 10 teams in 2011.


It's hard to choose an IPL XI from the 120-odd players who turned out in South Africa. The players selected by Atreyo Mukhopadhyay did something of note up to the final. That’s why Sehwag and Gambhir failed to make the cut, as did Symonds. See popup
1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 |