HindustanTimes Mon,20 Oct 2014

Govt norms to check soil erosion

HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times  Gurgaon, January 29, 2013
First Published: 01:54 IST(29/1/2013) | Last Updated: 01:56 IST(29/1/2013)

In an effort to check erosion of soil and maintain green cover, the Haryana government has notified 24 tehsils, including three of Gurgaon district.


An official spokesman said on Monday that the Haryana Forest Department has notified these areas under section 3 of the Punjab Land Preservation Act 1900.

The notified areas fall in 10 districts--  Panchkula, Ambala, Yamunanagar, Faridabad, Palwal, Gurgaon, Mewat, Mahendergarh, Rewari, and Bhiwani.

The three tehsils that have been notified in the district are Sohna, Pataudi and Gurgaon.

Other notified areas  near the city are tehsil Faridabad and Ballabgarh of district Faridabad, tehsil Palwal and Hathin of district Palwal, tehsil Nuh and Ferozepur Jhirka of district Mewat, and tehsil Rewari, Bawal and Kosli of district Rewari.

In these areas, cutting of trees except eucalyptus and popular trees or the collection, removal or subjection to any manufacturing process of forest produce other than flower, fruit and honey have been prohibited.

more from Gurgaon

'Hate crime': 2 northeast men beaten up in Gurgaon

Seven men thrashed two call centre workers from Nagaland with cricket bats and hockey sticks in Gurgaon late on Wednesday, the latest in a string of apparent hate crimes against people from the northeast.
Most Popular
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved