HindustanTimes Mon,22 Sep 2014

Skywalks to connect Rapid Metro stations with DLF buildings

Sanjeev K Ahuja, Hindustan Times  Gurgaon, January 18, 2013
First Published: 01:05 IST(18/1/2013) | Last Updated: 01:07 IST(18/1/2013)

 The Metro will have the unique feature of third-rail electrification and not have overhead power cables.



The concessionaire firm — Rapid MetroRail Gurgaon Limited (RMGL) — has started work on the skywalk to connect its terminal station at Sikanderpur to DMRC’s station for network integration allowing passengers to board RMG trains at Sikanderpur and vice versa. 

Two of the six Metro stations, such as Sikanderpur and Gateway Tower, would also have two police booths.

Gateway Tower is the only Metro station which would not be completed by April due to land acquisition row.

Sanjiv Rai, chairman and managing director, RMGL, said, “The company had plans of constructing three skywalks at Sikanderpur Metro station, Belvedere Tower and DLF City Phase 2, respectively.”

“There is a tentative plan for Phase 2 Metro station too but the firm is yet to take a final call on this,” he added.

“We have plans to connect DLF City Phase 3 Metro station with DLF Cyber Green and RBS buildings through skywalks on its mezzanine floor, while Belvedere Tower Metro station will be connected with building no. 10 on its terrace. The plan to connect building no. 5 with Phase-2 Metro station is yet to be finalised. Work on these skywalks is likely to kick off after the launch of the RMG in April. We will also talk to the owners of DLF to gain access to their buildings,” Rai added.

The RMGL has been conducting partial trial runs for trains as some parts of the 6.1-km-long track are still incomplete.

more from Gurgaon

Rural Gurgaon changing, voters quiz netas about wi-fi, Twitter

Long considered a rural assembly constituency, the tourist town of Sohna in Gurgaon district is fast turning into an urban hub, and its growing pool of educated and modern voters are posing tough questions to ticket-seekers hoping to win a seat here in the upcoming Haryana assembly polls.

Most Popular
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved