52% turnout in first phase of Mandi bypolls

  • Gaurav Bisht/Roop Upadhyay, Hindustan Times, Shimla/Mandi
  • |
  • Updated: Jun 23, 2013 23:37 IST

The byelection to the Mandi parliamentary seat witnessed 52% voting in the first phase on Sunday.

The second phase of polling will take place at 118 booths in the flood-hit Kinnaur district on June 27. The result will be declared on June 30.

The Mandi seat had fallen vacant after sitting MP Virbhadra Singh became chief minister of Himachal Pradesh in December.

There are four candidates in the fray: Virbhadra’s wife Pratibha Singh (Congress), former rural development minister Jai Ram Thakur (BJP), and Independents Lawan Thakur and Subash Snehi.

Chief electoral officer (CEO) of the state election commission Narinder Chauhan said polling was largely peaceful and no untoward incident was reported.

Polling was boycotted at three places  Nalard gram panchayat of Lahaul and Spiti and one gram panchayat each of Karsog in Mandi and Manali in Kullu.

Chauhan said polling was held in 1,803 polling booths in the first phase.


also read

Govt's decision on OROP expected any time soon

blog comments powered by Disqus