Civic standing committee polls: Rahul Shewale nominated again

The ruling alliance in the civic body —the Shiv Sena-Bharatiya Janata Party-Republican Party of India (Athavale) —has nominated Shiv Sena corporator Rahul Shewale as the standing committee chairman for the fourth time in a row.

The civic standing committee, which consists of 26 corporators as its members, is the most powerful panel in the civic body and decides all financial proposals to improve civic amenities in the city.

Before Shewale, former Sena corporator Ravindra Waikar also held the position of the standing committee chairman for four years.

The elections are scheduled to take place on April 5 and 8 for the posts of heads of the four statutory committees in the civic body – standing committee, education committee, improvements committee and the Brihanmumbai Electric Supply and Transport committee.

While Shewale filed his nomination for the post of the standing committee chairman on Monday, senior BJP corporator from Mulund, Manoj Kotak, filed his nomination for the post of education committee chairman.

Congress corporators Jyotsana Dighe and Shivanand Shetty filed their nomination from the opposition for the post of the chairpersons of the standing committee and education committee respectively.

Yashodhar Phanse, Sena corporator from Andheri, will continue as the leader of the House.

The Shiv Sena and Maharashtra Navnirman Sena have also collectively nominated five new members to the 26-member committee.


also read

On Pankaja word, officer facing graft probe gets top civic post

blog comments powered by Disqus