HindustanTimes Thu,23 Oct 2014

Five cops face action for illegal liquor sale

Jatin Anand, Hindustan Times  New Delhi, March 22, 2013
First Published: 00:00 IST(22/3/2013) | Last Updated: 00:02 IST(22/3/2013)

Officers in charge of five police stations were suspended during an unprecedented vigilance exercise aimed at checking drinking in public places and the flow of illegal liquor in their respective jurisdictions, till late Wednesday night.


The station house officers of RK Puram, Lahori Gate, Maurice Nagar, Burari and Sarai Rohilla police stations were sent to their respective district lines after two senior Delhi Police officers hit the streets incognito and bought country-made liquor below their very nose(s).

“The strictest action was, however, taken against the SHO of the RK Puram police station after Deepak Mishra, special commissioner of police (law & order), who was posing as a customer, procured four quarters of country-made liquor from a slum cluster in sector three,” said an officer.

Mishra was, according to sources, accompanied by Vivek Gogia, joint commissioner of police (southwest range) while purchasing the contraband.

Police said a departmental enquiry was initiated against the SHO since he apparently turned a blind eye to his special commissioner walking out of the slum cluster clutching four bottles of liquor. This despite visibly patrolling the very area from where the purchase was made.

“Action was taken against the SHO of each police station where people were seen drinking openly on the streets or where liquor was made available to the officers beyond ten pm and by people without a valid licence to sell it,” said another officer.

Special CP Deepak Mishra confirmed that action had been taken but refused to comment further on the issue.

more from New Delhi

Delhi: Daughter of DPS principal found dead

A 29-year-old woman, daughter of principal of Delhi Public School, RK Puram, was found dead on Wednesday morning at her father's official residence inside the school campus.
Most Popular
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved