HindustanTimes Wed,03 Sep 2014

MPs pay homage to martyrs of Parliament attack

PTI  New Delhi, December 13, 2012
First Published: 11:34 IST(13/12/2012) | Last Updated: 12:23 IST(13/12/2012)

Parliamentarians led by Rajya Sabha chairman Hamid Ansari, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar on Thursday paid homage to martyrs on the 11th anniversary of the attack on Parliament.


UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi, BJP leader L K Advani, leaders of Opposition in the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha, Sushma Swaraj and Arun Jaitley respectively and other members attended a solemn ceremony held in the premises of Parliament.

The leaders observed a silence for a while in remembrance of the martyrs.

On December 13, 2001, five heavily-armed gunmen stormed the Parliament complex and opened indiscriminate fire, killing nine persons.

The martyrs included five Delhi Police personnel, a woman Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) official, two Parliament watch and ward staff and a gardener.

A journalist, who was injured, died later. All five terrorists were shot dead.

A year later, four accused, including Afzal Guru, were arrested for the attack and found guilty after a trial. Guru has been sentenced to death in the case.

more from New Delhi

Out of form AAP to work out hierarchy, train volunteers

The Aam Aadmi Party is now aiming at getting its organisational structure right. Topmost things on its list of priorities are developing a power hierarchy and the registration as well as training of its volunteer force. Party chief Arvind Kejriwal’s direct interaction with his cadre is next.
Most Popular
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved