HindustanTimes Fri,22 Aug 2014

No house for two of Delhi’s new mayors

Hamari Jamatia,  New Delhi, May 05, 2012
First Published: 22:35 IST(5/5/2012) | Last Updated: 22:36 IST(5/5/2012)

North Delhi Municipal Corporation (NDMC) Mayor Meera Aggarwal has already moved into the mayor’s house in Timarpur, which former Mayor Rajni Abbi had occupied.


But her east and south Delhi counterparts haven’t been so lucky. Both are on a lookout for properties appropriate to the posts they hold.

Being the richest municipal body, the South Delhi Municipal Corporation (SDMC) is looking for a house that has facilities allotted to no less than an MP. The SDMC political wing, headed by Leader of House Subhash Arya, has decided to ask the Centre to allot an MP bungalow for Mayor Savita Gupta.

“We will approach Sheila Dikshit who had said she will arrange for a smooth split of the MCD. Now let finding a bungalow for our mayor be her headache,” Arya said.

In the unified MCD, the mayor’s bungalow in Timarpur was provided to the holder of the post. With the split, the property now belongs to NDMC.

SDMC has also decided to build itself a separate headquarter. It owns  a two-acre plot in Dwarka but the municipal body wants it to be accessible to all. “We can purchase land from DDA and build a headquarter. The plot in Dwarka will be too far and inaccessible for people from Badarpur and Najafgarh,” said Arya.

The civic body at present operates from the Dr Shyama Prasad Mukherjee Civic Centre that belongs to the NDMC.

more from New Delhi

Delhi: Is BJP fast losing connect with voters?

Trying to resolve the bigger issues plaguing the Capital in coordination with the Centre, the Bharatiya Janata Party’s seems to have lost its momentum in connecting with voters in Delhi.
Most Popular
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved