HindustanTimes Sun,28 Dec 2014

Rly service back to normal on Delhi-Mumbai route

HS Bartwal, Hindustan Times  New Delhi, June 02, 2007
First Published: 21:57 IST(2/6/2007) | Last Updated: 22:16 IST(2/6/2007)

While the Railways was forced to cancel several more trains on Saturday due to disruptions caused by the Gujjar agitation, normal service was resumed on the Delhi-Mumbai route after a top-level decision to start long-distance trains on certain routes.


The decision was taken after discussions between Railway Board officials and Rajasthan Government following which service was restored on the Delhi-Mumbai route via Gangapur City. The first train to run on the route would be the Amritsar-Mumbai Central Golden Temple Mail, an official said.

It has also been decided to run two additional pairs of special trains on Jaipur-Ringus Rewari metre gauge route which has connectivity with Delhi through broad gauge route trains at Rewari.

As many as 12 other trains had to be cancelled on Saturday due to the violent agitation in Rajasthan and neighbouring areas while eight were diverted and a similar number halted at various stations en route, according to the railways official.

The names of the cancelled trains are: 2015 New Delhi-Ajmer Express, 4321Bareilly-New Delhi Express, 2060 Nizamuddin-Kota Express, 2916 Delhi-Ahmedabad Ashram Express, 2450 Nizamuddin-Madgaon Express, 2988 Gwalior-Jaipur Express, 2059 Kota-Nizamuddin Express, 2987 Jaipur-Gwalior Express, 2016 Ajmer-New Delhi Express, 2415 Indore-Nizamuddin Express, 4312 New Bhuj- Bareilly Express and 9040 Muzaffarpur-Bandra Express.

more from New Delhi

Delhi: Banned Uber seeks support through petition

Cab service provider Uber launched an online petition Friday, requesting people to support the return of its services that were banned in the Capital after a driver allegedly raped a 25-year-old executive in his cab earlier this month.

Most Popular
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved