HindustanTimes Mon,29 Dec 2014

Young achievers get this year’s Sanskriti Awards

HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times  New Delhi, November 20, 2009
First Published: 23:18 IST(20/11/2009) | Last Updated: 23:20 IST(20/11/2009)

The Sanskriti Awards for 2009 were presented by Sanskriti Pratishthan on Friday.


Teresa Rehman, a mediaperson from northeast India; Ashok Pawar, a Marathi writer; Tejal Shah, a stage and visual media artist from Mumbai; Jyothish M G, theatre director from Kerala; and environmental journalist and social activist Bahar Dutt are this year’s recipients.

Prof. Sunil Khilnani, director, South Asia Studies, John Hopkins University (US) gave away the 30th edition of the awards that comprise a citation and Rs. 50,000 for each of the awardees.

Instituted in 1979, the Sanskriti Awards are aimed at inspiring and honouring young talent (between 25-35 years), who are striving to attain excellence in their chosen fields.

“Even though each awardee is working in different fields,” Khilnani said they are necessarily giving voice to India as it is.

“Theatre, novel or journalism … all these are living forms where a society can know what it is,” he added.

more from New Delhi

Delhi: 2 die on city’s coldest day, rain to ring in new year

Two people died in Delhi on the coldest day of the season so far on Sunday as dense fog affected over 100 flights and 150 trains, with the mercury plunging to a bone-chilling 2.6 degree Celsius, five below normal.
Most Popular
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved