HindustanTimes Fri,19 Dec 2014

Bitti Mohanty's BTech certificate was forged

Priya Ranjan Sahu, Hindustan Times  Bhubaneswar, March 15, 2013
First Published: 16:13 IST(15/3/2013) | Last Updated: 20:37 IST(15/3/2013)

A 5-member special investigation team from Kerala police that came to Odisha to probe rape convict Bitihotra Mohanty’s case on Friday found that he forged his educational certificates in the name of Raghav Rajan and produced them in Kerala to get a job and even secure an MBA degree.


“We verified the educational documents and confirmed that they are issued in the name of Bitihotra. But they have been later forged in the name of Raghav Rajan,” investigating officer Joji Joseph said.

The Kerala police team reached Odisha on Thursday night and started their investigation on Friday morning from KIIT University in Bhubaneswar. Bitihotra had obtained a degree in B Tech in 2005, but Joseph said he later forged it in the name of Raghav.

The team then went to Cuttack and visited the Stewart High School and Christ College, where Bitihotra studied and found the same modus operandi. The team is expected to meet Odisha police director general Prakash Mishra and interrogate Bitihotra’s father BB Mohanty, former Odisha director general of fire services.

On March 21, 2006, a fast track court had convicted Bitihotra (now 31) for raping a German girl in Alwar in Rajasthan. In November same year, he jumped a 15-day parole and was on the run since then.

He was arrested in Kerala on March 9 where he was working in the State Bank of Travancore as a probationary officer in the name of Raghav. He had obtained the job by providing certificates in the name of Raghav and even secured an MBA degree.

more from India

Nitish asks Modi to disapprove 'ghar wapsi', praising Godse

Former Bihar chief minister and senior JD-U leader Nitish Kumar Friday asked Prime Minister Narendra Modi to publicly disapprove his party BJP's Ghar Wapsi (home returning) campaign, and praise of Mahatma Gandhi's killer and hate speeches made by his party leaders.

Most Popular
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved