DCL CRICKET LEAGUE: Franchise owners to have base in Srinagar's 12 areas

  • HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times, Srinagar
  • |
  • Updated: Aug 23, 2013 20:32 IST

The mega cricketing league, Downtown Champions League (DCL), received a shot in its arm when each franchise owner deciding to represent 12 areas from downtown Srinagar. The Jammu and Kashmir Bank (JKB) is the co-sponsor of the event.

At a marathon meeting between the Khyber DCL organisers and all 12 owners at a hotel here on Thursday, it was decided unanimously that each franchise owner would represent a particular area from Srinagar with its team.

Imperial Strikers will have a home ground in Rajouri Kadal; Alkhuddam in Nowhatta; Kashmir Super Kings in Badamwari; Jawahar Housing Hawks in Eidgah; Kashmir Royal Stars in Buchpora; Mirza Gladiators in Hazratbal; Baba Reshi Lions in Khanyar; Adlife Stars in Khayaam; Ahad Sultans in Nawakadal; Pride Riders in Rainawari; Kehwa Kings in Hawal; and Ghani Gliders in Zainakadal.
The chief organiser of the Khyber DCL, Naseer Ahmad Sheikh, said the purpose behind representing regional areas was to generate interest among the crowds to support their respective teams. "The move aims to involve passionate downtown crowds to support their favourite teams belonging to their areas. Cricket without crowd involvement means nothing," he said.

Media adviser and Khyber DCL chief secretary Gowhar Geelani said the purpose of the coveted sporting event was to provide budding cricketers a platform to rub shoulders with the experienced first-class cricketers of Jammu and Kashmir.

"It is a pure sporting event. The purpose is to tap the new talent. Cricket, as a sport, is extremely popular and followed passionately across the Kashmir Valley. All we intend to do is to give youngsters a chance to showcase their talent," Geelani added.

Khyber DCL secretary general Mir Muneer said the bidding of nearly 250 players would soon be held in the Gulmarg Valley. "We're planning to conduct bidding in Gulmarg where the team owners will buy players of their choice," Mir said. Dates for the bidding will soon be made public.

The meeting, according to the Khyber DCL organisers, was attended by Naseer A Sheikh, Mir Muneer, Gowhar Geelani, Rouf Bisati, Sheikh Ashiq, Mubashir Hassan and all 12 owners and their representatives.


The 12 teams in Downtown Champions League will represent an area each in downtown Srinagar

TEAM                               AREA
Imperial Strikers                 Rajouri Kadal
Alkhuddam                         Nowhatta
Kashmir Super Kings          Badamwari
Jawahar Housing Hawks      Eidgah
Kashmir Royal Stars            Buchpora
Mirza Gladiators                  Hazratbal
Baba Reshi Lions                 Khanyar
Adlife Stars                          Khayaam
Ahad Sultans                       Nawakadal
Pride Riders                         Rainawari
Kehwa Kings                       Hawal
Ghani Gliders                       Zainakadal.


also read

India proposes NSA meeting with Pakistan on August 23-24

blog comments powered by Disqus