HindustanTimes Sat,26 Jul 2014

Rahul Gandhi's Amethi is no longer a district

HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times  Lucknow, April 15, 2013
First Published: 14:17 IST(15/4/2013) | Last Updated: 00:26 IST(16/4/2013)

The Lucknow bench of the Allahabad High Court on Monday quashed the notification of the previous Mayawati government creating a new district, Chatrapati Sahuji Maharaj Nagar (CSM Nagar), known as Amethi - the parliamentary constituency of AICC vice-president Rahul Gandhi.


Chief justice SK Singh and justice DK Arora passed the order here on Monday on pending writ petitions filed by Brij Kishore Verma and others.

During Mayawati's regime, the new district consisting of Amethi, Gauriganj and Jagdishpur tehsils of Sultanpur district and Tiloi and Salon tehsils of Rai Bareli were constituted in July 2010.

The new district was named after BSP icon Chatrapati Sahuji Maharaj with Gauriganj as headquarters. 

This is for the second time the district has been scrapped.

Mayawati had first constituted Amethi as district on May 21, 2003 but her successor Mulayam Singh Yadav had scrapped it on November 23 the same year.

Again after coming to power in 2007, Mayawati reconstituted the district in July 2010.

However a several petitions were moved challenging the government order. Finally, the high court on Monday again quashed the order.

With Monday's order, Rahul Gandhi's constituency ceases to be a district and it will again be spread over Sultanpur and Rai Bareli districts.

more from India

Congress not fit for Leader of Oppn status: AG to Speaker

The Congress, which has 44 seats out of the total 543 in the 16th Lok Sabha, has been insisting that it deserves the position. Even on Friday, its leader of opposition in Rajya Sabha, Ghulam Nabi Azad, said it was 'most unfortunate' that the Congress had not been given LoP status in Lok Sabha.
Most Popular
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved