HindustanTimes Sat,27 Dec 2014

5 Maharashtra MLAs suspended till year-end

HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times  Mumbai, March 20, 2013
First Published: 16:04 IST(20/3/2013) | Last Updated: 01:20 IST(21/3/2013)

The Maharashtra assembly on Wednesday suspended for the rest of the year the five MLAs involved in Tuesday’s assault on a police officer inside Vidhan Bhavan premises.


The MLAs assaulted sub-inspector Sachin Suryavanshi for allegedly using foul language when they asked him why he had misbehaved with fellow legislator Kshitij Thakur on Monday. Suryavanshi had fined the Bahujan Vikas Aghadi MLA’s driver for speeding.

The suspended legislators are Ram Kadam (Maharashtra Navnirman Sena), Kshitij Thakur (Bahujan Vikas Aghadi), Rajan Salvi (Shiv Sena), Jaikumar Rawal (BJP) and Pradip Jaiswal (Independent supporting Sena).

Soon after deputy chief minister Ajit Pawar presented the budget, parliamentary affairs minister Harshavardhan Patil moved the resolution for the suspension of the five MLAs for their “disgraceful behaviour that violated the dignity of the House”. The resolution was passed by a voice vote.

During the course of their suspension till December 31, 2013, the MLAs would not only be barred from participating in the House proceedings but will also be barred from entering the legislature premises in Mumbai and Nagpur.

more from Mumbai

Check drug use, women harassment or lose licences, cops tell pubs

With pubs and discotheques in the city gearing up for the December 31 bash, the Mumbai police have issued stringent guidelines to the hospitality industry, especially to prevent instances of drug consumption and harassment of women.
Most Popular
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved