HindustanTimes Mon,22 Dec 2014

Padma Bhushan for Rajesh Khanna, Rahul Dravid

HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times  New Delhi, January 26, 2013
First Published: 01:41 IST(26/1/2013) | Last Updated: 07:23 IST(26/1/2013)

Noted physicist Yash Pal and space scientist Roddam Narasimha were named for the Padma Vibhushan awards Friday, with 106 other Padma awardees, including actors Sharmila Tagore, Sridevi, the late Rajesh Khanna, late satirist Jaspal Bhatti and Olympic medallists Mary Kom, Yogeshwar Dutt and Vijay Kumar.


Sculptor Raghunath Mohapatra and painter S Haider Raza were among the four chosen for the second highest civilian award, the Padma Vibhushan. Nobody was named for the Bharat Ratna for this year too.

Cricketer Rahul Dravid made the 24-strong list for the Padma Bhushan. List of Padma Awardees

Joining him was Godrej group chairman Adi Godrej and missile scientist A Sivathanu Pillai. The awards will be presented in March and April.

Kom, silver medallist at the London Games, is the only Olympian in the Padma Bhushan list. India's other two Olympic heroes, wrestler Yogeshwar Dutt and shooter Vijay Kumar, were named for the Padma Shri, along with actors Sridevi and Nana Patekar, filmmaker Ramesh Sippy and fashion designer Ritu Kumar.

Rajendra Achyut Badwe, director of Mumbai's Tata Memorial Centre, oncologist Pramod Kumar Jhulka of AIIMS, homeopath Vishnu Kumar Gupta and sculptor Rajendra Tikku were named for the Padma Shri.

Four more sportspersons were named for the Padma Shri — mountaineer Premlata Agrawal, para athlete Hosanagara Nagarajegowda Girisha, boxer Ngangom Dingko Singh and rower Bajrang Lal Takhar.

more from New Delhi

Delhi grinds to a halt, over 300 flights delayed

More than 300 flights and 250 trains were delayed on Monday as Delhi was enveloped in the season’s worst fog cover and the mercury plunged to 4.2 degree Celsius, the coldest December 22 in five years and the lowest this season.
Most Popular
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved