HindustanTimes Mon,22 Dec 2014

JMM announces list for Orissa
Press Trust of India, PTI
Bhubaneswar, April 03, 2004
First Published: 11:11 IST(3/4/2004)
Last Updated: 11:11 IST(3/4/2004)

Having entered into an electoral alliance with the Congress for the first time, the JMM today announced names of its candidates for Mayurbhanj Lok Sabha constituency and seven assembly seats.

JMM's state president Sudam Marandi told reporters here that he would be the party candidate for the Mayurbhanj (ST) Lok Sabha and Kuliana assembly seats.

The party would also field former MLA Ajen Murmu from Bangiriposhi, Ram Chandra Murmu from Rairangpur, Bimal Lochan Das from Baripada, Nihar Surin from Biramitrapur and Hallu Mundari from Raghunathpalli.

The candidate for Bahalda constituency is yet to be decided, he said adding names of all candidates had been approved by JMM chief Shibu Soren.

Bimal Lochan Das, incidentally, was the BJP candidate for Baripada in the 2000 polls but finished second behind Kishore Das of JMM.

Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved