The BCCI on Friday ruled out replacing injured left-arm seamer Ashish Nehra with Javagal Srinath for the final of the Champions Trophy in Colombo saying the team management had informed that there was no need for it.
Newly-elected BCCI secretary SK Nair told reporters here that team manager KM Ramprasad had informed the Board that there was no need to replace Nehra at this stage.
Nehra, who had a split webbing in his bowling hand, is doubtful for Sunday's final, team physio Andrew Leipus said.
Srinath, who is playing in county championship in England, has announced his retirement from Test cricket but has expressed his willingness to play in the one-dayers.
Nehra suffered the injury during the semi-final against South Africa on Wednesday when he attempted to run out Jacques Kallis off his own bowling.
He split the webbing between the index finger and middle finger on his left hand and it required five stitches.
"There's a question mark over him at the moment," Leipus said.
"He could still recover in time and a decision would be made tomorrow. He has no problem gripping the ball, but we have to consider catching and other aspects."