South Korea beat India 4-3,
win Asiad Hockey gold

  • Sandeep Nakai (Associated Press), PTI, Busan
  • |
  • Updated: Oct 12, 2002 20:51 IST

South Korea regained the Asian Games men's field hockey title by defeating India 4-3 in the gold medal final on Saturday.

Penalty-corner shooter Yeo Woon-kan scored South Korea's match-winner with two minutes left. The hosts took a 3-0 lead nine minutes into the second half before India scored three times in 11 minutes to tie it.

Earlier, Malaysia won its first Asian Games medal in 12 years when it took the bronze on a tiebreaker, preventing Pakistan from returning home with a hockey medal for the first time in 44 years. South Korea, which won Asian Games titles in 1986 and 1994, avenged its loss to India in the gold medal match at Bangkok in 1998.

Skipper Kang Keon-woon capitalized on Song Seong-tae's cross from the right side to open the South Korean scoring in the 23rd minute. Yeo then scored the first of his two penalty corner goals with a drag flick into the right corner of the net in the 31st minute.

India, forced to defend throughout the first session, earned its first penalty corner to open the second half, but failed to have a crack at the goal amid confusion between the penalty-corner shooters.

South Korea went ahead 3-0 when striker Song Seong-tae shot the ball past advancing goalkeeper Devesh Chauhan after picking Kang Seong-jung's defense-splitting pass inside the striking circle. Outclassed until then, India came back charging as Jugraj Singh scored the first of his two goals by converting a penalty stroke in the 48th minute.

The stroke was awarded when goalkeeper Kim Yoon obstructed Indian striker Deepak Thakur from having a crack at the goal.

Five minutes later, Gagan Ajit Singh beat the Korean goalkeeper with a flash strike after Dhanraj Pillay had relayed Thakur's pass to him inside the striking circle.

Jugraj Singh sent a drag-flicked penalty corner into the net in the 59th minute to bring India level at 3-3.

The match was destined for extra time when an infringement by Jugraj Singh gave South Korea the decisive penalty corner. Yeo's drag flick goal ended India's reign as the Asian Games champion. India has won the Asian Games title twice, in 1966 and 1998. Malaysia prevailed 4-2 in the tiebreaker after the two teams were level 1-1 in regulation period and after a sudden-death extra time.

Malaysia took its tally to six Asian Games bronze with its first medal since 1990. Pakistan is a seven-time winner of the Asian Games tournament and had won a medal in every Asian Games since hockey was added to the Games program in 1958.

Malaysian goalkeeper Roslan Jalamuddin made two saves in the tiebreaker, stopping Pakistan's drag-flick artist Sohail Abbas and Mudassar Ali to clinch Malaysia victory.

Keevan Raj, Chua Boon Huat, Kuhan Shanmuganathan and Muhammad Amin converted the penalty strokes for Malaysia as it won without the fifth shot being required. For Pakistan, only Muhammad Sarwar and Muhammad Wasim shot on target.

"We were a trifle lucky to catch Pakistan on the wrong foot after its semifinal defeat," Malaysian coach Paul Lissek said of Pakistan's loss to India in the semifinals.

Winner of seven gold, two silver and two bronze medals in the previous 11 Asian Games hockey competitions, Pakistan has not won a major title since the 1994 World Cup in Sydney.


also read

Khandelwal attacks Jamir govt

blog comments powered by Disqus