Dhumal attended all sittings, Kaul most inquisitive

As Himachal votes to elect the new government on November 4, the MLAs’ performance in the 11th legislative assembly deserves a mention. A performance card released by National Election Watch and Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR) shows how the MLAs had fared in the last Vidhan Sabha.

Chief minister Prem Kumar Dhumal, BJP MLA from Bamsan, was among those who attended all the 128 sittings of the House. Apart from Dhumal, others who attended all the sittings in the 2007-2012 assembly include Sukh Ram (BJP, Paonta Doon), Narender Bragta (BJP, Jubbal-Kotkhai), Khimi Ram (BJP, Banjar), Ishwar Dass Dhiman (BJP, Mewa), Sarveen Choudhary (BJP, Shahpur), Tulsi Ram (BJP, Bharmour), Ramesh Chand (BJP, Jawalamukhi), Bal Krishan Chauhan (BJP, Chamba), Ravinder Singh (BJP, Thural), Mahender Singh (BJP, Dharampur), Rajeev Bindal (BJP, Solan), Gulab Singh (BJP, Joginder Nagar), Kishan Kapoor (BJP, Dharamsala), Rikhi Ram Kaundal (BJP, Geharwin) and Yog Raj (Congress, Pragpur).

Jai Ram Thakur (BJP, Chachiot), Vipin Singh Parmar (BJP, Sulah), Prakash Chaudhary (Congress, Balh) and Gangu Ram Musafir (Congress, Pachhad) were present in 127 sittings.

The top-five MLAs, all from Congress, who asked the maximum number of questions included Kaul Singh Thakur (368 questions during 119 sittings), Rajesh Dharmani (353 questions, 122 sittings), Mukesh Agnihotri (268 questions, 127 sittings), Gangu Ram Musafir (227 questions, 127 sittings) and Kuldeep Singh Pathania (227 questions, 120 sittings).

On the contrary, the top-five MLAs of BJP, who asked the minimum number of questions included Jagat Prakash Nadda (Bilaspur) who asked no question during his 102 sittings, Khimi Ram (Banjar) one in 128 sittings, Renu Chadha (Banikhet) five in 114 sittings, Jai Ram Thakur (Chachiot)10 in 127 sittings and Urmil Thakur (Hamirpur) 17 questions in 121 sittings.

The total number of actual sittings in the Himachal Pradesh legislative assembly from 2007-2012 was 128 out of 140 days that the assembly had planned to sit.

The average number of sittings per year in the Himachal Pradesh assembly is 32, the maximum sittings per year in the country along with Goa, as compared to Manipur (24) and Uttar Pradesh (22).

A total of 107 bills were passed during the entire term of the Himachal Pradesh Assembly.

The performance card released by National Election Watch and Association for Democratic Reforms has come in response to a Right To Information query submitted to the state assembly secretariat, seeking information pertaining to the performance of MLAs in the House.


Key numbers

140 planned sittings

128 actual sittings

107 bills passed

32 average sittings per year, highest in country along with Goa

Source: National Election Watch and Association for Democratic Reforms



also read

VBS row

Dhumal seeks PM statement

blog comments powered by Disqus