HindustanTimes Wed,20 Aug 2014
Will approach guv if violence doesn’t abate: Maya
HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times
Lucknow, March 11, 2012
First Published: 00:18 IST(11/3/2012)
Last Updated: 02:25 IST(11/3/2012)

BSPstate unit president Swami Prasad Maurya was elected leader of its legislator party unanimously on Saturday. National general secretary Naseemuddin Siddiqui was elected leader of the BSP in the legislative council.

Party supreme Mayawati’s term as a member of the legislative council expires in July 2016. By appointing loyalist Siddiqui as leader of the upper house, Mayawati has indicated that she would be batting for Rajya Sabha membership.

During a meeting of BSP MLAs, MPs and MLCs, held under the chairmanship of national president Mayawati at the state unit office, she expressed concern over the sudden spurt in crime and directed party leaders to act with restrain.

“If the newly-elected government fails to check the atrocities being committed against BSP supporters, I will raise the issue with governor BL Joshi,” she said. Newly elected MLAs were introduced in the meeting.

Gayacharan Dinkar, elected from the Naraini seat in Banda district, was appointed deputy leader of the BSP in the legislative assembly. Former energy minister Ramvir Upadhyay, elected from the Sikandra Rau assembly seat, was appointed chief whip of the BSP in the legislative assembly. Vedram Bhati, elected from the Jewar assembly seat, was appointed party whip in the assembly.

Senior lawyer Gopal Narayan Mishra was elected deputy leader of BSP in the legislative assembly. Sunil Kumar Chittor was appointed chief whip in the legislative council and Vinay Kumar Shakya was made whip in the council. Former cabinet minister Indrajit Saroj, elected from the Manjhanpur assembly seat, was made treasurer of the BSP legislator party.

comment Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
blog comments powered by Disqus



Stop playing the caste card in elections

election campaign rally
Whenever there is election in the country, caste appears to the fore as a factor to inter-play in the whole electioneering.

Do you think Samajwadi Party can live up to its promises in UP?

Samajwadi Party has claimed a majority in 403-member Uttar Pradesh assembly.


Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved