HindustanTimes Thu,23 Oct 2014
Modi’s ministers not lucky in polls
Mahesh Langa, Hindustan Times
Ahmedabad, December 08, 2012
First Published: 00:49 IST(8/12/2012)
Last Updated: 02:02 IST(8/12/2012)

Over the last decade, Gujarat chief minister Narendra Modi has gone from strength to strength. But the ministers he picked haven't had the same luck.

In the last assembly election in the state, as many eight ministers in the 25-member cabinet failed to get re-elected. The list included Kaushik Patel (revenue), Bhupendrasinh Chudasama (agriculture) and IK Jadeja (urban development and road and building).

Even when the BJP scored a sweeping victory in 2002, riding the strong Hidutva wave in the wake of communal riots, a dozen ministers in the outgoing cabinet lost.

The losers included former chief minister and then industries minister Suresh Mehta from Mandavi in Kutch, Purushottam Rupala from Amreli, irrigation minister Babubhai Bokhiria, finance minister Nitin Patel and social justice and empowerment minister and prominent Dalit leader Fakirbhai Waghela.

This time too, several ministers are on shaky grounds.

Two powerful ministers who are close to the chief minister —Anandiben Patel and Saurabh Patel -- have changed their constituencies apparently because they were not sure of winning.

comment Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
blog comments powered by Disqus


Gujarat Elections 2012:
Don't miss

Cong to target Modi through music CDs

In a carefully crafted strategy for the coming elections in Gujarat, the Congress is avoiding personal attacks on chief minister Narendra Modi. Instead, the party will target him on development issues, Aurangzeb Naqshbandi reports.

EC bans using Navratra functions for poll campaign

 Election Commission which on Sunday barred all kinds of political activities at religious functions in poll-bound Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh during the nine-day revelry.
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved