HindustanTimes Mon,22 Dec 2014
The White House has housed 13 presidents since WWII
Washington, November 05, 2012
First Published: 16:19 IST(5/11/2012)
Last Updated: 09:13 IST(6/11/2012)

Thirteen presidents -- seven Democrats and six Republicans -- have called the White House home since the United States entered World War II in 1941 after the attack on Pearl Harbor.

Below is a list showing when they were elected to when their successors were voted into office:

1932-1945: Franklin Roosevelt (Democrat) Elected for the fourth time in 1940 -- the country's two-year term limit was adopted in 1951 -- he died on April 12, 1945, less than a month before the end of the war in Europe.

1945-1952: Harry Truman (Democrat) As vice president, he took office after Roosevelt's death and was elected in 1948.

1952-1960: Dwight Eisenhower (Republican)

1960-1963: John Kennedy (Democrat) Assassinated in Dallas on November 22, 1963.

1963-1968: Lyndon Johnson (Democrat) As vice president, he took office in 1963 after Kennedy's death and was elected in 1964.

1968-1974: Richard Nixon (Republican) Re-elected in 1972, he resigned in 1974 over the Watergate scandal.

1974-1976: Gerald Ford (Republican) As vice president, he replaced Nixon following his resignation. To this day, he is the only president who was never elected after losing his 1976 bid to Jimmy Carter.

1976-1980: Jimmy Carter (Democrat)

1980-1988: Ronald Reagan (Republican)

1988-1992: George Bush (Republican)

1992-2000: Bill Clinton (Democrat) Clinton is the only Democrat to serve two terms in the White House since the end of World War II. Obama is vying to become the second.

2000-2008: George W. Bush (Republican)

2008 - : Barack Obama (Democrat)

comment Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
blog comments powered by Disqus

Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved