HindustanTimes Mon,29 Dec 2014
India dominate Champions Trophy team of tournament
London, June 24, 2013
First Published: 22:52 IST(24/6/2013)
Last Updated: 02:42 IST(25/6/2013)

Winners India provided five players in the Champions Trophy team of the tournament announced by the International Cricket Council (ICC) on Monday.

World Cup holders India added another 50-over title to their collection, albeit in a match reduced by rain to 20 overs per side, when they beat hosts England by five runs in a thrilling final at Edgbaston on Sunday.

India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni was named as skipper of an all-star team that also included compatriots Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Ravindra Jadeja and Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

England's Jonathan Trott and James Anderson were included along with Pakistan's Misbah-ul-Haq, Kumar Sangakkara from Sri Lanka, South Africa's Ryan McLaren and New Zealand's Mitchell McClenaghan.

Joe Root of England was the 12th man.

Dhoni was named as skipper after he led his side to victory in the final, thus becoming the first captain in the history of the game to lift all three major ICC trophies -- the 2007 World Twenty20 2007, 2011 World Cup and 2013 Champions Trophy.

While not at his best with the bat, Dhoni led India well in the field and his clever deployment of spin was reflected in the wicket-keeper's four tournament stumpings.

The team of the tournament was selected by a panel that included former India fast bowler turned match referee Javagal Srinath as well as leading Pakistani umpire Aleem Dar.

Champions Trophy team of the tournament (in batting order):
Shikhar Dhawan (IND) 363 runs
Jonathan Trott (ENG) 229 runs
Kumar Sangakkara (SRI) 222 runs
Virat Kohli (IND) 176 runs
Misbah-ul-Haq (PAK) 173 runs
MS Dhoni (IND, capt/wkt) 27 runs, 5 catches, 4 stumpings
Ravindra Jadeja (IND) 80 runs and 12 wickets
Ryan McLaren (RSA) 83 runs and 8 wickets
Bhuvneshwar Kumar (IND) 6 wickets
James Anderson (ENG 11 wickets
Mitchell McClenaghan (NZL) 11 wickets
Twelfth Man:
Joe Root (ENG) 173 runs

comment Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
blog comments powered by Disqus



Match Date Time Match Details Venue
1st 06-06-2013 3:15PM IND vs SA Cardiff
2nd 07-06-2013 3:15PM WI vs PAK London
3rd 08-06-2013 3:15PM ENG vs AUS Birmingham
4th 09-06-2013 3:15PM SL vs NZ Cardiff
5th 10-06-2013 6:30PM PAK vs SA Birmingham
6th 11-06-2013 3:15PM IND vs WI London
7th 12-06-2013 6:30PM AUS vs NZ Birmingham
8th 13-06-2013 6:30PM ENG vs SL London
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved