iconimg Tuesday, September 01, 2015

Press Trust Of India
New Delhi, March 05, 2013
Politicians, administrators and cricketers, both former and presest, came forward to congratulate the Indian team on their thumping victory over Australia in the second Test in Hyderabad.

"This is an unprecedented victory. The way India has won - with huge margins in Chennai and Hyderabad - will raise their morale. Beating Australia, who are a strong side, is a big achievement for India," IPL chairman Rajiv Shukla said.

Minister of state for human resource development Shashi Tharoor congratulated the Indian team on Twitter and wrote,"Shabash to the Indian cricket team! Shouldn't BCCI offer Australia a 1st-class match for practice in the long interval before the third Test?"

Team India's member Ajinkya Rahane also took to Twitter to express his happiness and said it was a great feeling to win by an innings margin. "Great win, great feeling.. was part of the team in australia too..now can say that life is a full circle..well bowled @ashwinravi99 (R Ashwin). Memorable partnership between (Chesteshwar) Pujara and (Murali) Vijay," he wrote.

Former cricketer Sanjay Manjrekar was all praise for India's young brigade. "Pujara, Vijay, Bhuvaneshwar, Ashwin, Jadeja...the young brigade of Indian cricket winning that second Test match for India," he posted. "Aus performance so far has shown that cricket skills a necessity too, along with aggression and fitness," he added.

Indian team's one-day squad members, Manoj Tiwary and Sursh Raina, also lavished praise on their team-mates for putting up a good show against the Australians. "Great win team INDIA .. Way 2 go boys," wrote Tiwary. Raina posted: "An innings victory has no parallel! Brilliant effort @imjadeja and @ashwinravi99, Outstanding win."

The match lasted just two hours into the fourth day and Australia's frailties against spin stood thoroughly exposed yet again after the eight-wicket loss in the opening Test in Chennai. The victory gives India an unassailable 2-0 lead in the four match Border-Gavaskar trophy.