iconimg Wednesday, September 02, 2015

HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times
New Delhi, April 02, 2013
Azad Singh and Poornima Vidhyarthi of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), who filed their nominations for the post of mayor and deputy mayor of the North Delhi Municipal Corporation on Monday, are set to be elected unopposed because no other candidate is in fray for these posts. Azad Singh from Mundka — the incumbent deputy mayor — was also the deputy mayor in the erstwhile Municipal Corporation of Delhi.

Ram Kishan Singhal and Mohan Bharadwaj of the BJP and Mukesh Goel of the Congress, who have filed their nominations for the posts of members of the standing committee, are also set to be re-elected because of the lack of any other candidate. There are three vacancies for the post of members of the standing committee since the retirement of Goel, Surinder Kaur and Vijay Prakash Pandey.

The elections to the posts of mayor, deputy mayor and three vacancies of members of standing committee will be held in the meeting of the corporation. The meeting will be held at the Aruna Asaf Ali meeting hall, Dr. S.P.M Civic Centre, Jawahar Lal Nehru Marg on April 8. Monday was the last day for filing nominations for the above posts.

The South Delhi Municipal Corporation, too, will elect a new mayor and deputy mayor on April 16. The last date for filing nominations in the office of municipal secretary is April 9. “Candidates can withdraw their candidature at any time before the election is proceeded within the meeting,” a corporation official said.

According to provisions under Sub-Section (1) of Section 35 of the Delhi Municipal Corporation Act, 1957, the corporation shall, at its first meeting in each year, elect one of its members to be the mayor and another member to be the deputy mayor.