iconimg Friday, September 04, 2015

Press Trust Of India
Ranchi, July 25, 2013
JMM MLA Shashank Sekhar Bhokta wastoday elected unopposed as the new Jharkhand Assembly Speaker. Pro-tem Speaker Simon Marandi conducted the proceedings and made a formal announcement of Bhokta's unanimous election. Bhokta is the sole candidate to have filed nomination papers for the post. Bhokta's nomination came after C P Singh had resigned from the post of Speaker on July 19. His resignation came less than 24 hours of the trust vote won by the Hemant Soren-led government.