iconimg Saturday, September 05, 2015

HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times
CHANDIGARH , July 31, 2013
The Punjab Arts Council has been re-constituted with the induction of new office-bearers of its three academies, while the previous chairperson Harjinder Kaur and secretary general Prof Nirmal have been retained for another three-year term. The term of the previous council ended in February. Eighteen members of the Punjab Kala Parishad met under the chairmanship of state tourism minister Sarwan Singh Phillaur here on Monday. The following were nominated to the Punjab Arts Council for three years: Harjinder Kaur chairperson, SS Virdi, vice-chairman and Nirmal Datt secretary general.

Kewal Dhaliwal was nominated Punjab Sangeet Natak Akademi president, while Devinder Singh Chhina was named vice-president and Sudesh Sharma secretary. Harvinder Singh Khalsa was named president of the Punjab Lalit Kala Akademi, Malkit Singh vice-president and Sadhana Sangar secretary. Surjit Patar was nominated Punjab Sahit Akademi president, Sarabjit Kaur Sohal vice-president and Shamsher Singh Sandhu was named secretary.