iconimg Saturday, May 30, 2015

HT Correspondent , Hindustan Times
Chandigarh, August 31, 2013
Randhir Singh Badhran was on Saturday elected unopposed chairman of the Bar Council of Punjab and Haryana.
Parupkar Singh Ghuman was also elected unopposed as vice-chairman and Karanjit Singh was appointed as honorary secretary of the Bar Council. All the three were elected to the Bar Council for the first time.

Most of the members who were elected through general elections held in the months of May and June were present on the occasion on Saturday. Hawa Singh Hooda, advocate general, Haryana, was the chairman of the committee for holding elections.

The results were earlier declared on June 24. Those who were sitting members and were re-elected were Anmol Rattan Singh Sidhu (president of Punjab and Haryana high court bar association), Minderjeet Yadav (chairman of Bar Council of Punjab and Haryana), Harpreet Singh Brar, Partap Singh, Bhupinder Singh Rathore, Chander Mohan Munjal, Lekh Raj Sharma, Vijender Singh Ahlawat, Gurinder Pal Singh, Pravesh Yadav, Raj Mohan Singh, Rakesh Gupta, OP Sharma, Rajeev Kaswan, Harpreet Singh Garcha, Sukhdeep Singh Bhinder and Jai Vir Yadav.

The eight newly elected members were Karanjit Singh, Ashok Singla, Joginder Kumar Maheshwari, Randhir Singh Badhran, Amit Rana, Parupkar Singh Ghuman, Narinder Kumar Singla and Rajat Gautam.

Polling to the legal body with 58,696 advocates spread over Punjab, Haryana and Chandigarh, were held in two phases on May 31 (Chandigarh) and June 1 (Punjab and Haryana).