iconimg Friday, September 04, 2015

HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times
Solan, September 07, 2013
Teams of Yadavindra Public School, SAS Nagar, and host Pinegrove School will lock horns in the finals of the All-India Sant Singh Memorial Inter-School Soccer Tournament being played on the campus of Pinegrove School at Dharampur. Earlier, in the first semi-final, Pinegrove boys came out strong against Motilal Nehru Sports School, Rai (Sonepat), by 3-0 in a match played on the third day of the tournament on Friday night.

The home team's defence was rarely tested in the first half as their forward line kept the ball under control and went about their task clinically whenever they got an opportunity to score.

Despite facing early deficit, the Sonepat boys did not flinch in the second half, but tested the defence of the home team many a time, but they made some basic errors thereby losing the match.

For Pinegrove, Aayush Kandwal was the leading scorer with two goals, while Sahil Pahal netted one more goal for the home team enabling them to reach the final.

In the second semi-final, SAS Nagar YPS edged past Bishop Cotton School (BCS), Shimla, by a margin of 3-1. Ikrambir Singh netted the ball thrice for the YPS lads, while Pradhuman scored the consolation goal for the BCS, Shimla, boys.

Earlier, in their last league match, Pinegrove boys had defeated YPS, Patiala, by a margin of 3-0 to storm into the last four stages with Ayush Kandwal, Rushil Negi and Rajvansh Thakur, scoring one goal each for the home team.

Likewise, BCS, Shimla, trounced YPS, Patiala, by a margin of 3-1 in a match which went down the wire. The match commenced on a sedate note, but gathered momentum when Kunal, Akshit and Digvijay pumped in three goals. For Patiala boys, Manveer Singh was the lone goal scorer.