iconimg Monday, August 31, 2015

Press Trust Of India
Los Angeles, September 14, 2013
Hollywood writer-director-actorWoody Allen will be honoured with the Cecil B DeMille Award at the 71st Annual Golden Globe Awards to be held in January next year.

Allen, 77, has written and directed more than 45 films to date, including Annie Hall, Hannah and Her Sisters, Match Point, Vicky Cristina Barcelona and Midnight in Paris, which won a Golden Globe and an Academy Award for its screenplay last year, reported Deadline.

Allen was recently admired by his fans for his tweet “without fear, you'd never survive.” He believes a writer doesn’t make up his line consciously. It proceeds from his unconscious. In an interview he said, “I don't think of the joke and then say it. I say it and then realise what I've said. And I laugh at it, because I'm hearing it for the first time myself.”

"There is no one more worthy of this award than Woody Allen. His contributions to filmmaking have been phenomenal and he truly is an international treasure," Theo Kingma, president of the Hollywood Foreign Press Association (HFPA), said in a statement.

Chosen by the HFPA Board of Directors, the Cecil B DeMille Award is given annually to the talented individuals who have made an incredible impact on the world of entertainment.

Recent recipients include Jodie Foster (2013), Morgan Freeman, (2012), Robert De Niro (2011), Martin Scorsese (2010), Steven Spielberg (2009), Warren Beatty (2007), Anthony Hopkins (2006), Robin Williams (2005), Michael Douglas (2004), Gene Hackman (2003), Harrison Ford (2002), Al Pacino (2001), and Barbra Streisand (2000).

Produced by dick clark productions in association with the HFPA, the Golden Globe Awards are viewed in more than 160 countries worldwide and are one of the few awards ceremonies to include both motion picture and television achievements.