iconimg Tuesday, September 01, 2015

HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times
Bhopal, November 04, 2013
Despite the talk of Rahul Gandhi taking a final call on candidates, the first list of Congress candidates for the MP assembly election shows that it has more or less reverted to the old ‘quota system’, rather than their winnability.

If most of the candidates from the Gwalior-Chambal region are from Jyotiraditya Scindia’s camp, the Kamal Nath camp has secured most of the seats in the Mahakoshal region. Digvijaya Singh supporters too have got tickets.

Among the 115 candidates announced on Friday, 50 are sitting MLAs. Only one MLA has been dropped.

Among wards of top leaders who were in the running for tickets, only Rajnish Singh, son of former minister, the late Harvansh Singh, will be contesting from his father’s Keolari seat.

Digvijaya Singh’s son, Jayvardhan, who filed his nomination from the Raghogarh seat does not figure in the first list. The Leader of Opposition, Ajay Singh, will contest polls from his traditional Churhat seat.