iconimg Sunday, August 30, 2015

HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times
New Delhi, April 05, 2014
The Centre has set up a five-member expert committee to recommend a site for the capital of successor state of Andhra Pradesh. The committee will be headed by former Union urban development secretary K Sivaramakrishnan.
After the bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh, Hyderabad, which will be the capital of Telangana, will remain a joint capital of the two states for ten years and within that period, the residuary state will have to build a new capital.

The committee will consider issues such as the least possible dislocation to existing agriculture systems as well as ensure minimum resettlement of people and their habitations, while recommending a site.

The panel will have Rathin Roy, director, National Institute of Public Finance and Policy, New Delhi, Aromar Revi, director, Indian Institute for Human Settlements, Bengaluru, Jagan Shah, director, National Institute of Urban Affairs, New Delhi and KT Ravindran, former dean, School of Planning and Architecture, New Delhi as members.