iconimg Wednesday, July 29, 2015

HT Correspondent , Hindustan Times
Sangrur: , April 13, 2014
With two candidates withdrawing their nomination papers on Saturday, a total of 21 candidates have been left in the fray from the parliamentary constituency here. Interestingly, no party, out of the 12 in the poll fray,  has fielded any woman candidate. The two women candidates are Parveen Kaur and Jyoti, but they are contesting the elections independently.

Two independent candidates, who withdrew their nominations are Billu Singh and Harpal Singh Dirba. The returning officer has also issued election symbols to independent candidates.

Dirba said he had withdrawn his nomination papers in support of SAD candidate Sukhdev Singh Dhindsa.
After withdrawing the nomination papers, Dirba joined the SAD along with his supporters. Dhindsa’s daughter Mandeep Kaur Sidhu welcomed him to the party fold by offering him a siropa (a scarf of honour) and appointment letter as vice- president of Youth Akali Dal.

Addressing the gathering, Mandeep Kaur assured due respect to Harpal and his supporters in the SAD. She also appealed to them to work for the victory of the SAD candidate in the election.

Talking to Hindustan Times, Kavita Singh said besides the NOTA (none of the above) button, the EVM will have a total of 23 buttons and two ballot units.
Besides, Sukhdev Singh Dhindsa of SAD, Vijay Inder Singla and Bhagwant Mann of the AAP,  Bant Singh and Sukhdev Ram Sharma have filed their nominations from CPI (M) and CPI respectively.

The seat, which  is witnessing a triangular contest between Singla, Dhindsa and Bhagwant Mann, about 14.23 lakh voters would cast their votes at 1,241 polling booths, from 7 am to 6 pm on April 30.