iconimg Sunday, August 30, 2015

HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times
New Delhi, April 30, 2014
Khushi Ram Chunar of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) was elected the mayor of South Delhi after defeating Dharmveer Singh of the Congress by a single vote. Chunar, a councillor from Ambedkar Nagar, secured 52 out of the 103 valid votes polled. Praveen Rana of the Congress was elected as deputy mayor. He defeated Bir Singh of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) by a margin of 13 votes. Rana secured 59 out of the 105 voted polled.

An ABVP president from Bhagat Singh College, Chunar, is the son of a former cleaner at the MCD.

In the East civic body, Meenakshi of the BJP was elected mayor after defeating the Congress candidate, Tulsi, by a margin of 9 votes. Out of the 60 votes polled, one was declared invalid and Meenakshi secured 34 votes ensuring her victory.

A similar result was seen in the polling for the post of deputy mayor, with the BJP’s Jai Gopal Verma defeating Congress councillor, Aas Mohammad.

Two Congress MP’s — East Delhi’s Sandeep Dikshit and Rajya Sabha MP Parvez Hashmi — failed to vote in the South Delhi mayoral polling and the party lost by a single vote.

Sources in the party said that the duo were likely to face action for their no-show.

“I have asked the state Congress Chief Arvinder Singh to prepare a report on this incident. If these two MPs had voted our party could have won. We will take appropriate action,” said Shakeel Ahmed, AICC general secretary and Delhi in-charge.

Meanwhile, Delhi Congress chief Arvinder Singh expressed happiness over the party’s performance in the election in South Delhi.

The Congress candidate for deputy mayor won by a margin of 16 votes. Singh said that this implied that certain BJP councillors must have voted for the Congress, as the candidate received six votes more than the party’s strength in the house.

“This proves that BJP’s own councillors are not happy with their party’s performance in providing certain amenities to the area. And we have been hearing of a Modi wave across the country. But how can someone with no control over his own councillors control the entire country?” asked Singh.

Farhad Suri of the Congress, Kuldeep Solanki and Radhey Shyam Sharma of the BJP were elected unanimously for the post of members of the standing committee from the House in the South Delhi civic body while Ashish Sood of the BJP was elected unanimously as a member of the education committee.

In the East corporation, BB Tyagi and Ram Narayan Dubey of the BJP and Savita Sharma of the Congress were elected as the members of the standing committee from the House.

The tenure of existing mayors and deputy mayors of all three municipal corporations of the city came to an end this month.

This year, the post of mayor in all the three corporations is reserved for Scheduled Caste candidates.

According to provisions of the Delhi Municipal Corporation Act, 1957, it is mandatory for the House to elect new office-bearers — mayors and deputy mayors — in the first meeting of the financial year.