iconimg Saturday, August 29, 2015

HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times
Chennai:, May 17, 2014
The two NDA candidates to win from Tamil Nadu — BJP state unit chief Pon Radhakrishnan and PMK’s Anbumani Ramadoss — automatically get chosen to represent Tamil Nadu in the Union council of ministers in the Modi-led NDA government. A prominent veteran politician, Vaiko of the MDMK, would have been a highly probable candidate had he won.

The PMK is hoping that Ramadoss will find a place in the government, but was unwilling to say anything on this when questioned by the media on Saturday.

A PMK leader, however, said that BJP president Rajnath Singh had already made it clear that even though the BJP had won majority on its own, all pre-poll allies would be invited to participate in government formation. Even PM-designate Narendra Modi favours the idea of taking along all parties, he said.

Ramadoss was health minister in the Atal Bihari Vajpayee government. Sources in the BJP local unit are also certain that Radhakrishnan would find a ministerial berth.

The BJP state unit president was not reachable for comment, but he told reporters in Madurai that he was sad that the BJP (and its allies) could not win many seats in Tamil Nadu.