iconimg Friday, September 04, 2015

HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times
Chandigarh, July 23, 2014
Haryana Vidhan Sabha Speaker Kuldeep Sharma on Tuesday nominated 11 members for an all-party delegation led by Haryana chief minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda that would meet Prime Minister Narendra Modi on the of ficial resolution on Sutlej Yamuna Link canal as announced during the discussion in the House on July 14, 2014.

An official spokesman said that the other 10 members of the all party delegation were finance minister Harmohinder Singh Chattha, parliamentary affairs minister Randeep Singh Surjewala, power minister Capt Ajay Singh Yadav, education minister Geeta Bhukkal, public health engineering minister Kiran Chaudhry, deputy s peaker Akram Khan, chief parliamentary secretary Prahlad Singh Gillakhera; INLD MLAs Ashok Arora and Krishan Lal Panwar, and BJP MLA Anil Vij.

It may be recalled that the Haryana Vidhan Sabha had passed a resolution urging Centre to immediately ensure construction of Sutlej-YamunaLink (SYL) canal.

The resolution is based on May 7, 2014 judgment of the constitution bench of five judges of Supreme Court of India in a case titled ‘state of Tamil Nadu vs state of Kerala and another, urging the Central government to immediately take over and ensure construction of SYL canal to restore the due SYL water to people of Haryana.

The House had also called upon the Punjab government to extend all cooperation in construction of SYL canal in its territory.