iconimg Sunday, August 02, 2015

Press Trust of India, PTI
Kohima, February 20, 2003
Chief Minister S C Jamir (Congress) and ex-Chief Ministers Hokishe Sema (BJP) and K L Chishi (NDM) were among 231 candidates left in the fray for the February 26 Nagaland assembly polls after the deadline for withdrawal of nominations ended. Congress defector and Nagaland People's Front (NPF) leader Neiphiu Rio is also in the fray.

Sixty-one aspirants, including 51 dummies representing different political parties, withdrew their nominations, Chief Electoral Officer said.

The ruling Congress has fielded candidates in all the 60 constituencies, NPF in 54, BJP in 36, JD (U) in 13, NCP in six and Nationalist Democratic Movement (NDM) in 25 seats.

Nine assembly seats are witnessing straight fight either between Congress and NPF or Congress and BJP.

Pradesh Congress president S C Jamir's home constituency Aonglenden in Mokokchung district is witnessing a triangular contest with Padmashree Chubala Ao, wife of first Chief Minister late Shillu Ao, being one of the contestants.