iconimg Saturday, August 01, 2015

Press Trust Of India
Dubai, September 15, 2009
Indian skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni and opener Gautam Gambhir got twin nominations, while Yuvraj Singh and Virender Sehwag were shortlisted for the ODI Player of the Year category of the ICC Annual Awards to be announced on October 1 in Johannesburg. Gambhir, Dhoni, Australian pacer Mitchell Johnson and Englishman Andrew Strauss have been short-listed for the Sir Garfield Sobers trophy for Cricketer of the Year after voting by an independent 25-member academy.

In addition, Gambhir, Johnson and Strauss were also short-listed for the Test Player of the Year alongside Sri Lanka’s Thilan Samaraweera.

Cricketer of the Year
MS Dhoni, G Gambhir, M Johnson, A Strauss;
Test Player of the Year:
G Gambhir, M Johnson, T Samaraweera, A Strauss;
ODI Player of the Year:
S Chanderpaul, MS Dhoni, V Sehwag, Yuvraj;
Emerging Player of the Year:
B Hilfenhaus, G Onions, J Ryder, P Siddle;
T20 Player of the Year:
S Afridi, T Dilshan, C Gayle, U Gul;
Women’s Cricketer of the Year:
C Edwards, S Nitschke, C Taylor;
Umpire of the Year:
A Dar, T Hill, A Rauf, S Taufel;
Spirit of Cricket Award:
Australia, England, New Zealand, Sri Lanka.
Dhoni is also in contention to retain the ODI Player of the Year award he won last year as he is short-listed in that category with team-mates Yuvraj and Sehwag as well as West Indies’ Shivnarine Chanderpaul.

Pacer Zaheer Khan, off-spinner Harbhajan Singh, VVS Laxman, Amit Mishra and women team’s former captain Mithali Raj, who made the long list of various categories earlier were left out of the final list of nominees.

The T20 International Performance of the year short-list does not feature any Indians. Pakistan all-rounder Shahid Afridi and pacer Umar Gul, who are joined by West Indies’ Chris Gayle and Sri Lanka’s Tillakaratne Dilshan. The nominations were made by a five-man selection panel chaired by former West Indies captain and current chairman of the ICC Cricket Committee Clive Lloyd.

The panel also included former players such as Anil Kumble, Mudassar Nazar of Pakistan, Bob Taylor of England and Kiwi Stephen Fleming.