iconimg Wednesday, September 02, 2015

HT Correspondents, Hindustan Times
New Delhi, November 11, 2009
The Congress, the Trinamool Congress and the Bahujan Samaj Party emerged the main gainers from the by-elections to 30 assembly seats and one Lok Sabha seat held on November 7, whose results were announced on Tuesday. The Left Front and Samajwadi Party were the major losers. The Congress won the sole Lok Sabha seat and 10 assembly seats, winning in every state where bypolls were held. The Trinamool won seven of the 10 seats in the fray in West Bengal, while the BSP picked up nine of 11 seats being contested in Uttar Pradesh.

A wave of anti-Left sentiment seemed to be sweeping West Bengal, where, apart from the Trinamool’s seven, its partner Congress too picked up one seat.

Of the remaining two, one went to an Independent while Left Front constituent Forward Bloc got the last seat. The CPI-M drew a complete blank.

The bypolls continued the trend seen in May when the Congress-Trinamool trounced the Left Front in the Lok Sabha elections.  “People have spoken out against the Marxist-sponsored violence and CPI-M’s bad governance,” said Trinamool chief and Union Railway Minister Mamata Banerjee (54).

In Kerala, too, the CPM-led Left Democratic Front drew a blank with the Congress retaining all three seats for which bypolls were held.

In UP, the SP took a severe beating failing to win a single seat, while the BSP captured nine of the 11 seats polled. (Of the remaining, one went to the Congress and the other to an Independent.) In the sole Lok Sabha seat contested, Firozabad, the Congress Raj Babbar beat Samajwadi Party chief Mulayam Singh Yadav’s daughter in law Dimple Yadav, by a convincing 85,000 votes.

With inputs from state bureaus