iconimg Saturday, August 29, 2015

Rajkot, February 28, 2010
Tamil Nadu beat Madhya Pradesh by 134 runs in the semi-final to enter the final of the Vijay Hazare trophy on Saturday. Tamil Nadu batted first and put a healthy 348 on the board, losing only five wickets in the process. In reply, MP's batting collapsed and succumbed to 214 all out in just 43.1 overs. Part-time mediumpacer R Satish picked up 4 for 16 and Yo Mahesh chipped in with 3 for 49 as wickets fell at regular intervals.

Earlier, Tamil Nadu openers S Anirudh (76) and Abhinav Mukund (130) gave the team a solid start when they stitched together a 177-run partnership for the first wicket. Mukund, who is leading the team, struck 12 fours and a six on the way to his century. S Badrinath rounded the innings off with 58.

Brief Scores: Tamil Nadu 348 for 5 (S Anirudha 76, A Mukund 130, S Badrinath 58; Amarjeet Singh 3-60) beat MP 214 all out (M Mishra 41, Anand 43; Yo Mahesh 3-49, R Sathish 4-16) by 134 runs.