iconimg Friday, July 31, 2015

Indo-Asian News Service
New Delhi, June 11, 2012
Goalkeeper Bharat Chetri was named captain of the Indian hockey team in the Olympics. The 16-member squad and two stand-bys was announced by Hockey India (HI) after trials at the Balewadi Sports Complex in Pune conducted June 6-7.
The trials were witnessed by HI selectors BP Govinda and Balbir Singh, alongwith chief coach Michael Nobbs and government observer Harbinder Singh.

The squad:

Goalkeepers: Bharat Chetri (captain) and P.R. Sreejesh

Defenders: V.R.Raghunath, Ignace Tirkey, Sandeep Singh

Midfielders: Sardar Singh (vice captain), Kothajit Singh, Gurbaj Singh, Birendra Lakra, Manpreet Singh

Forwards: SV Sunil, Gurwinder Singh Chandi, Sarvanjit Singh, Shivendra Singh, Danish Mujtaba, Tushar Khandker, Dharamvir Singh, S.K. Uthappa