iconimg Thursday, September 03, 2015

HindustanTimes.com, PTI
October 16, 2003
BJP's stormy petrel and chief of Madhya Pradesh BJP Uma Bharti is said to be a good match to 'master politician' Digvijay Singh, who will be seeking a third term this time.

Having taken formal education just up to 6th standard, she became a sadhvi at a young age. Her fiery speeches and oratory skills are admired even by her adversaries. She was at the forefront of Ram Temple movement and later even handled several important ministries (Sports and Coal) before being asked to lead polls in Madhya Pradesh as the state unit chief.

Having been charged by the Special Court in Ayodhya demolition case, the Sadhvi representing Bhopal in Lok Sabha, has regained the Hindutva vigour recently, coinciding well with the announcement by her party and RSS to stir up Ayodhya movement across the country once again.

The party surveys, showing her party on the up, has further rejuvenated her and she is going all out. Recently she accused Congress chief Sonia Gandhi of trying to turn India into a Christian state.

However, until recently she was having a rough time after getting embroiled in various controversies, all whipped up by her rival. These controversies include the ridiculous "offering of a cake to Lord Hanuman to mark His birthday". Singh even roped in her brother, Swami Prasad Lodhi, who had been spouting venom against Bharati.


Father’s Name:              Shri Gulab Singh

Date of Birth   :                  3 May 1959

Place of Birth  :                Dunda, Distt. Tikamgarh (Madhya Pradesh)

Marital Status :                    Unmarried

Educational Qualifications:  6th Standard 

Profession       :                   Religious Missionary

Permanent Address          88, Malviya Nagar, 
                                       Bhopal-462 003 
                                       (Madhya Pradesh)

Present Address               9, Tyag Raj Marg, 
                                       New Delhi-110 011 
                                       Tels. (011) 3019274, 3794565

Positions Held

• 1988 onwards              Vice-President, BJP, Madhya Pradesh 
• 1989                                   Elected to 9th Lok Sabha
• 1990                                   Member, Consultative Committee, Min of Agriculture
1990-92                       Member, Consultative Committee, constituted under Punjab State Legislature (Delegation of Power) Act, 1987
1991                            Re-elected to 10th Lok Sabha (2nd term)
1991-92                       Member, Public Accounts Committee
1992-93                       Member, Public Accounts Committee 
1993 onwards               President, BJP, Youth Wing
• 1996                            Re-elected to 11th Lok Sabha (3rd term)
1996-97                       Member, Committee on Science and Technology, Environment and Forests
1998                            Re-elected to 12th Lok Sabha (4th term)
1998-99                       Union Minister of State, HRD
1999                                   Re-elected to 13th Lok Sabha (5th term)
13 Oct 1999–                Union Minister of State (Ind Charge),  Tourism   
• 7 Nov 2000-25 Aug 2002:  Union Cabinet Minister, Youth Affairs & Sports 
26 Aug 2002- 29 Jan 2003: Union Cabinet Minister, Coal and Mines  

Books Published

• Swami Vivekananda (1972);
• Peace of Mind (published in Africa) 1978
• Manav Ek Bhakti ka Naata (1983) (in Hindi)

Social and Cultural Activities

Service to the poor and needy through Mata Betibai Charitable Trust and Manav
Jagriti Sangh and donations to institutes engaged in welfare of the destitutes

Special Interests

Protecting environment and wild life; discussions and discourses on Hindu religion and culture (since the age of six) throughout the world, composing Hindi poems

Other Information

Member, Ram Janam Bhoomi Trust; and engaged in Vishwa Hindu Parishad (VHP) activities                                         

Election Result of  Bhopal Lok Sabha Constituency 
      Total electorate                                           15,78,355 
      Total votes polled                                          9,76,686 
      Poll percentage                                               61.88% 
      Valid votes                                                    9,76,493

Votes polled in favour of the first four leading candidates:

       (1) Sadhvi Uma Shree Bharati     (B.J.P.)     5,37,905     55.09% 
       (2) Shri Suresh Pachori              (I.N.C.)    3,69,041     37.79% 
       (3) Shri Shrawan Gourav            (Ind.)        19,710       2.02% 
       (4) Shri Phool Singh                   (B.S.P.)      18,617        1.91%

•    Resigned  on 2 February 2000