iconimg Wednesday, September 02, 2015

Sutirtho Patranobis, Hindustan Times
Beijing, November 16, 2012
All seven members – including the five new ones – are from the Han community which is in overwhelming majority in China.
All are educated with degrees in Marxist theory, social sciences, law, economics, military engineering, chemical engineering and history. Xi Jinping and Li Keqiang have been members of the Standing Committee since 2007.

But all seven have been members of the wider Politburo – which has 25 members - for two terms now.

The Politburo is chosen by the Central Committee of the CPC comprising of 200 members who are allowed to vote.

The list of names is according to the seniority they enjoy in the Standing Committee with Xi leading the group.

At the function, the team made their public debut, the seven had their numbers according to hierarchy written in small fonts on the stage.

The numbers went like this: 7, 5, 3, 1, 2, 4, 6 (Xi Jinping was in the middle number 1)

Xi Jinping, Li Keqiang, Zhang Dejiang, Yu Zhengsheng, Liu Yunshan, Wang Qishan, Zhang Gaoli meet with journalists in Beijing.