iconimg Sunday, August 30, 2015

HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times
Jalandhar, December 23, 2012
BSNV Inter-College Lucknow won the of Ninth All India Balwant Singh Kapur Hockey Tournament, defeating Government Model School Jalandhar in a penalty Shootout sudden death by 7-6 at the Olympian Surjit Hockey Stadium on Sunday.
The teams were locked at 2-2 at the end of the stipulated time. 

Charanjit Singh Atwal Speaker Punjab Assembly gave away the prizes to the winners. The winners bagged Mata Parkash Kaur Cup and Rs. 1.25 lakh cash, the runners-up were awarded Rs. 75,000 cash and a trophy. The third-placed team was awarded Rs. 40,000 cash and the fourth-place team was awarded
Rs 30,000.

Krishna Pathak of Jalandhar was declared the best goal keeper, Maninderjit Singh of Ratwara Sahib was awarded as the best full-back, Johan Barla of BRC Danapur was adjudged the best half-back and Sumit Kumar of BSNV Lucknow was declared as the best forward.

Jalandhar team's Harmanpreet Singh was declared as the top scorer of the tournament. Manish Yadav of BSNV Lucknow emerged as the most promising player of the tournament. Baba Gurmukh Singh Uttam Singh School, Khadoor Sahib, bagged the fair-play trophy.

The championship match was a fast-paced affair. Lucknow took the lead in the 23rd minute of the play, when Manish Yadav scored of a penalty corner. At half time, Lucknow led by 1-0. In the 42nd minute, Lucknow consolidated the lead when the Jalandhar goalkeeper scored a self-goal, after partially stopping a shot from Manish Yadav. After that, the Jalandhar Boys scored two goals to draw level. In the 52nd  minute , Lovepreet Singh and in 60th minute Harmanpreet Singh scored for Jalandhar.

Even in the penalty shootout, the teams were level at 2-2 and after this the sudden death rule was applied, and Lucknow finally won the title 7-6.