iconimg Wednesday, August 05, 2015

HT Correspondent
Chandigarh, January 03, 2013
After a gap of almost a year, the Punjab government has finally notified the statute panel for the Punjab State Women's Commission, appointing Paramjit Kaur Landran as its chairperson, besides two other members.
The two other members appointed on Thursday included Shobha Rana from Nangal and Birpal Kaur Tarmala from Lambi, official sources here confirmed.

There are four other vacant positions as members in the Commission that was defunct in absence of a chairperson or any member since August 2012.

The last chairperson had moved out in December 2011.

A three-year fixed term has been notified for the present chairperson and the members.

The Punjab government had in September 2012 ensured in the Punjab and Haryana high court to fill up the vacant posts of the Commission chairperson and all its members within three months.