iconimg Wednesday, September 02, 2015

HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times
Chandigarh, January 11, 2013
The Election Commission of India today announced the schedule for the Moga assembly by-election. The polling would be held on February 23, 2013.
With the announcement of Election schedule the code of conduct has come into effect immediately in the district of Moga. It was disclosed by spokesperson of the Election Commission.

He said that the seat was vacated by the Congress candidate Joginderpal Jain who joined Shiromani Akali Dal  (SAD) in December last year.

A notification in this regard would be issued on January 30, 2013 and the last date of filing nominations would be February 6, 2013 followed by the scrutiny on February 7, said spokersperson.

He said that the last date for withdrawal of candidature is February 9, 2013 and the polling would be held on February 23.

The spokesperson further said that the counting of votes would be done on February 28, 2013 and the hours of poll would be 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM.

There are 188 polling stations with a total electorate of 1, 78, 320 (94,098 males, 84,222 females).