Walia re-elected as chief of DAV teachers union

  • HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times, Amritsar
  • |
  • Updated: Apr 01, 2014 19:56 IST

Prof HS Walia, former state president and general secretary of the Punjab and Chandigarh College Teachers Union (PCCTU), has been elected as the president of the DAV College Amritsar Teachers Union for a record 11th time.

The Walia group bagged 9 out of 12 posts, the elections for which were held on the college campus here on Tuesday under the banner of the PCCTU.

The other winners are: Kamaljit Rana (vice-president), Prof BB Yadav (secretary), Prof Rajneesh Popi (joint secretary), Prof Puneet Sharma (finance secretary) and Prof Sanjay Sharma (staff secretary).

Prof Vivek Aggarwal, Prof Vikas Behal and Prof Madan Mohan have been elected as the amalgamated fund members.Those who were elected as delegates to the union were Prof. Sameer Kalia, Prof. Harsimran Anand, Prof. Vikas Bhardwaj, Prof. Malkiat Singh and Prof Rajesh Kumar.


also read

No relief in sight for victims of Gurdaspur botched-up eye surgeries

blog comments powered by Disqus