Google Translate app update adds 20 new launguages

  • AFP
  • Updated: Jul 30, 2015 12:48 IST

Google announced the addition of 20 more languages to its Translate app on Wednesday, making for a total of 27.

The update includes improved real-time voice translations while one-way translations are now available from English to Hindi and Thai.

New languages include Bulgarian, Catalan, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, Filipino, Finnish, Hungarian, Indonesian, Lithuanian, Norwegian, Polish, Romanian, Slovak, Swedish, Turkish and Ukrainian.

The app already enables users to snap photos of words or phrases in an unfamiliar language for instant visual translation without the need for internet connection or cell phone data, a benefit for travelers unable to access such services.

The app is available for Android and iOS devices.

also read

The world goes hysterical as Google Docs goes down for hours
Show comments