Naga People's Front wins first two seats

  • Press Trust of India, PTI, Kohima
  • |
  • Updated: Mar 01, 2003 11:43 IST

The first two results announced on Saturday to the 60- member state Assembly in Nagaland have gone in favour of the Nagaland People's Front (NPF).

In Pfutsero constituency, former Nagaland power minister K Therie of the NPF beat L Mero of Congress by 1503 votes.

On the western Angami seat, Kiya Nilie (NPF) beat sitting MLA Afu Key Ho (Congress) by 960 votes.
Counting of votes in the state began at 8:00 am amid tight security, but in Mokokchung district it was delayed due to lack of arrangements on time.

blog comments powered by Disqus